What are you looking for?        

Find A Cottage

Step One

Step Two

 Report a Review

Reviews for Lagos

Average rating: (8 reviews)

4 8
no image available

Lagos, Atlantic Terrace, Trevone, Cornwall inc Scilly, PL28 8RB

Description of the

Holiday cottage in Trevone.

Sleeps: 8

Contact Details

Note: Property details may have been supplied by a reviewer. Please check current details with the owner.

Reviews


12 of 19 people found this review helpful
Recommended?  Definitely Date of visit: 08/2011
Cottage Review:  

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Lagos. The views from the front of the house are quite stunning and we spent much time watching the sun go down and the waves crashing along the coast. The property is no more than 50 yards to the beach, perfect for us with three young ones.

The house is spacious and we enjoyed its character. There was plenty of room for the kids, we had friends visit on two occasions and and we had ample space to cater for them. The house is a well equiped Victorian beach house with great character. The furniture and decor of the house are eclectic and give the house a special beach house feel that we found perfect. Wooden floorboards throughout and an outside hot shower were great and we were warm when the weather closed in. All the elctrical items you need are present including a dishwasher, fridge freezer, washing machine, Sky TV and they are clean and in good working order. The only thing missing is a microwave but we didn't miss it.

We had everything that we needed and we were able to really relax and enjoy one of the best family beach holidays we have had. We would definitly recommend Lagos.

Make up of party:  Two adults, three children
Cleanliness: good Location: exceptional
Facilities: good Views: exceptional
Value: exceptional Overall rating:
Review Added by: sshedden Review Added: 26.08.2011
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 of 23 people found this review helpful
Recommended?  No Date of visit: 07/2011
Cottage Review:  

Terrible house - very dirty. Beds old and dirty. Some windows don't close. Top bathroom is truly grim. Kitchen covered in grime. Covers on the old chairs and sofas obviously never cleaned. Smells of dogs. Left as soon as we could. Owner completely in denial.

If you have dogs and want a very basic relaxed holiday home where you can let your dogs freely around the house and not have to worry about cleaning up, this is the place for you.

Make up of party:  Family with two young children.
Cleanliness: poor Location: exceptional
Facilities: poor Views: exceptional
Value: poor Overall rating:
Review Added by: VMartin Review Added: 04.08.2011
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 of 15 people found this review helpful
Recommended?  Definitely Date of visit: 06/2011
Cottage Review:  

We've rented the house and it's small cottage for the past 2 years and have had fantastic holidays. The location couldn't be better, the house is lovely - shabby chic in style and full of charachter. great for a family holiday. Will be hopefully booking again!!! Thanks so much. Would recommend quite happily!

Make up of party:  Families sharing
Cleanliness: good Location: exceptional
Facilities: good Views: exceptional
Value: exceptional Overall rating:
Review Added by: peleclark0 Review Added: 05.10.2011
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 of 16 people found this review helpful
Recommended?  Definitely Date of visit: 04/2011
Cottage Review:  

Have been holidaying at Lagos for many years with friends and family. I have recommended the house and its location to everyone I know as a wonderful retreat and I have never known anyone to not enjoy their stay. The house has great character, is clean and functions really well as a spacious relaxing beach house. Its best features are a huge dining table, open plan kitchen and living space, separate TV room, lovely main double bedroom, excellent utility room, 4 toilets, two bathrooms plus outside shower. The house looks out over the rocks to the sea and is a minute from a beautiful, sandy beach. You can walk over the gorgeous headland to Padstow in 30 minutes or stride out on the coastal walk which takes a couple of hours. But the best thing about staying at Lagos is that even at the height of the summer season, because of its location, there's always time to enjoy the beaches, rocks and sunsets all to yourself.

Make up of party:  Usually 2 or 3 families, Or friends weekends away
Cleanliness: good Location: exceptional
Facilities: good Views: exceptional
Value: good Overall rating:
Review Added by: ESR Review Added: 29.08.2011
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 of 18 people found this review helpful
Recommended?  Definitely Date of visit: 04/2011
Cottage Review:  

Have been holidaying at Lagos for many years with friends and family. I have recommended the house and its location to everyone I know as a wonderful retreat and I have never known anyone to not enjoy their stay. The house has great character, is clean and functions really well as a spacious relaxing beach house. Its best features are a huge dining table, open plan kitchen and living space, separate TV room, lovely main double bedroom, excellent utility room, 4 toilets, two bathrooms plus outside shower. The house looks out over the rocks to the sea and is a minute from a beautiful, sandy beach. You can walk over the gorgeous headland to Padstow in 30 minutes or stride out on the coastal walk which takes a couple of hours. But the best thing about staying at Lagos is that even at the height of the summer season, because of its location, there's always time to enjoy the beaches, rocks and sunsets all to yourself. [Added at Editor's discretion since it appears to be a helpful review and the reviewer has been authenticated]

Make up of party:  Usually 2 or 3 families, Or friends weekends away
Cleanliness: good Location: exceptional
Facilities: good Views: exceptional
Value: good Overall rating:
Review Added by: mych editor Review Added: 29.08.2011
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 of 14 people found this review helpful
Recommended?  Definitely Date of visit: 04/2011
Cottage Review:  

LAGOS & The Cottage when used together provide the perfect practical base for a magical holiday in Trevone, and can sleep up to 16 people on assorted beds, bunks & pull-out beds.

However, if you are looking for designer fittings and cream sofas this is perhaps not the place for you; the pricing structure reflects that, and is in my opinion more than fair.

BUT.... my extended family & I have stayed in Lagos & The Cottage at Easter time for the last four years, and hopefully will continue to enjoy breaks here for many years to come. Anyone booking should be aware that this is not really a commercial let, but a family owned property let out when not in use by family members; as such we always feel priviledged to be able to enjoy the fabulous views and excellent 'fung shui' that we feel when we are in the house. It is a really practical and comfortable house with wooden floors and old, family furniture (including a fabulous old turquoise leather recliner!) where everyone can relax without worrying about the odd spill or breakage, in front of a roaring log fire in the 1930s tiled fire-place. As the wind and waves blow up outside it feels a haven of peace, warmth and tranquility - because there is enough room for people to go off into their own space with 2 sitting rooms, tvs & cd players, and an excellent hi-fi in the kitchen. The kitchen is a workable area with plenty of cooking kit, and the huge pantry & storage space makes catering for 16 easy. The magnificent table can seat 20 people at a push & we have enjoyed many splendid and hilariuos meal-times together. The children of all ages enjoy the proximity of both the rocky beach and the sandy/surfing beach, and we spend all day outside - whatever the weather - clad in wetsuits, then hose everyone down under the hot shower in the back garden - simply MAGIC! Then perhaps an adventure climbing down the blow-hole, or a trip to Padstow for a gourmet feast or just Rick Stein's famous and delicious fish & chips.

In Lagos & The Cottage the beds are all comfortable and the mattresses & pillows always covered in clean white protectors; we have always arrived to find the place clean & warm - it is certainly as clean as you could expect for an old house which gets a lot of use.

Lagos & The Cottage are quirky, interesting, and welcoming.

Trevone is a beautiful secret retreat, and Lagos & The Cottage are full of charm & character - enjoy!

Susan Kass 31.8.2011.

Make up of party:  2 families & assorted God-parents & friends; children ages range from 4 to 18.
Cleanliness: good Location: exceptional
Facilities: good Views: exceptional
Value: exceptional Overall rating:
Review Added by: sk Review Added: 31.08.2011
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 of 21 people found this review helpful
Recommended?  Definitely Date of visit: 07/2010
Cottage Review:  

The house - the combination of its atmosphere, location and decor and design has become our benchmark for fantastic holidays. We've been coming here for over 20 years and the only complaint is thats its often booked when we want to visit! Inside the house (and adjoining cottage) are furnished with a successful mix of vintage and modern furniture, well-stocked with mod-cons and an enormous amount of space to spread out and relax. Outside - well what can beat sitting on the front lawn watching the sun go down, rock jumping on the rocky beach or lazing on Trevone's sandy beach? The cliff path runs just in front taking you to Padstow if you fancy a less hurried route to town. This is a truly beautiful unique holiday home.

Make up of party:  4 families with assorted children from 5 to 11 sharing the house and the cottage.
Cleanliness: good Location: exceptional
Facilities: good Views: exceptional
Value: good Overall rating:
Review Added by: emma.knight Review Added: 31.08.2011
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 of 20 people found this review helpful
Recommended?  Definitely Date of visit: 07/2009
Cottage Review:  

I couldn't agree less with the previous, negative reviewer. spent a very happy week at Lagos.We also rented the adjoining small cottage and all agreed it was the perfect set-up for a family holiday, great atmosphere and everyone could relax and not worry about the decor. Beds and bathrooms were basic but clean, which was what we wanted and expected. We are planning another visit next summer.

Make up of party:  three generations: 2 grandparents, 4 parents,5 children, one dog.
Cleanliness: good Location: exceptional
Facilities: good Views: good
Value: good Overall rating:
Review Added by: JaneFW Review Added: 26.08.2011
Was this review helpful? Yes No

IMPORTANT DISCLAIMER - PLEASE READ - All reviews are posted by third parties. As such they do not represent the views of My Cottage Holiday Limited nor should they be taken as a recommendation by My Cottage Holiday Limited of any property. ALL reviews are the opinions of other users and may not be accurate. They do not represent the views of MyCottageHoliday or its employees. We accept no responsibility for the accuracy of the information provided on the site. The reviews and property descriptions are provided by members of the public to help you choose a holiday cottage but you should personally check ALL details with the property owner or their agent before making a booking.

My Cottage Holiday Ltd, Company No. 09974415, Unit 2, Compass House, Velator, Braunton, Devon, EX33 2DX