What are you looking for?        

Find A Cottage

Step One

Step Two

 Report a Review

Cottage Holiday Reviews for The Moorings Lostwithiel

Average rating: (14 reviews)

5 14

The Moorings Lostwithiel, Brunel Quays, Lostwithiel, Cornwall inc Scilly, PL22 0JB

Description of the holiday cottage

An outstanding contemporary property peacefully set on the banks of the River Fowey, the river that inspired Kenneth Grahames' "Wind in The Willows". Accommodation: Ground floor sitting room with double doors onto patio overlooking the river, separate wc. 1st Floor, open plan dining, kitchen and (2nd) sitting area with French doors to balcony, utility room/wc. 2nd Floor, master bedroom, king size bed with ensuite shower/wc and dressing room, family bathroom, double bedroom. 3rd Floor, twin room with ensuite shower room/wc. All new furnishings, flat screen TV's, complimentary broadband.

Patio with chairs and table. Private road with off street parking (one under cover).

Best Features

This unique property has been finished to the highest standard with fine attention to detail, providing luxurious and comfortable accommodation in the heart of the ancient town of Lostwithiel with its antique markets, restaurants, pubs,woodland and river walks. The perfect location to tour both the rugged north coast of Cornwall or the sheltered south coast beaches and fishing villages.

Sleeps: from 0 to 6

Pets: No

Contact Details

Contact Name: Vivienne Rogan

Telephone: 07760 105106

Send E-mail

Reviews


16 of 23 people found this review helpful
Recommended?  Definitely Date of visit: 09/2012
Cottage Review:  

Excellent property with everything you could possibly need for a great holiday. Having the two lounge areas was a big plus and plenty of bathrooms. The location was stunning and the property itself was of the highest standard. Beautifully decorated and so very comfortable. A lovely welcome pack waiting on our arrival was a nice touch. Lostwithiel was very convenient for sight-seeing around the county and having the train so close was a bonus. Highly recommended. [Added at Editor's discretion since it appears to be a helpful review and the reviewer has been authenticated]

Make up of party:  Mum, Dad, Daughter and Son-in law.
Cleanliness: exceptional Location: exceptional
Facilities: exceptional Views: exceptional
Value: good Overall rating:
Review Added by: mych editor Review Added: 21.09.2012
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 of 19 people found this review helpful
Recommended?  Definitely Date of visit: 09/2012
Cottage Review:  

My husband was recovering from a recent illness and the Moorings was the perfect tonic! The cottage was amazingly quiet and so well equipt that we did not find anything missisng that we needed to make our holiday complete. The owner had clearly put alot of love and thought into all the fixtures and furnishings and the fact that all amenities were walkable with 2 toddlers was a huge bonus. A charming town with interesting shops and some great pubs

Make up of party:  Fanily of 4 (including 2 toddlers)
Cleanliness: exceptional Location: exceptional
Facilities: exceptional Views: exceptional
Value: exceptional Overall rating:
Review Added by: eree18 Review Added: 10.10.2012
Was this review helpful? Yes No
15 of 22 people found this review helpful
Recommended?  Definitely Date of visit: 05/2012
Cottage Review:  

We stayed here back in May with our friends and The Moorings was easily the best cottage we have rented, well situated, spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated and exceptionally well equipped. The cottage is furnished and decorated as if it were a home instead of a letting cottage. Vivienne was very helpful and just went the extra mile to make sure our holiday went well. Well done Vivienne definitely 5 stars !!!!!!

Make up of party:  2 Couples
Cleanliness: exceptional Location: good
Facilities: exceptional Views: good
Value: exceptional Overall rating:
Review Added by: Pat Geary Review Added: 23.10.2012
Was this review helpful? Yes No
13 of 18 people found this review helpful
Recommended?  Definitely Date of visit: 12/2011
Cottage Review:  

We stayed over New Year and entertained family and friends very comfortably at The Moorings. It is very well equipped with all the kitchen and dining ware a family could need. The location is perfect for travelling around Cornwall and also idyllic for just sitting with the balcony doors open, sipping coffee, or wine , depending on the hour, watching the river go by. Lostwithithiel is a lovely town with all the amenities we needed. All in all we had a perfect winter break. Thank you.

Make up of party:  Husband & wife. Various comings and goings of Daughter, son-law and Grandson. Second daughter and boyfriend.
Cleanliness: exceptional Location: exceptional
Facilities: exceptional Views: exceptional
Value: exceptional Overall rating:
Review Added by: helen Review Added: 12.01.2012
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Owner response:
Helen
What a wonderful review to end 2011 and start 2012,Thank you so much for going to the time and trouble of writing it.
Of course i am delighted that you and your family enjoyed Lostwithiel and in particular “The Moorings” , i hope we can welcome you back someday,
Vivienne

14 of 22 people found this review helpful
Recommended?  Definitely Date of visit: 01/2011
Cottage Review:  

We've rented many properties in Cornwall over the years, and The Moorings was the best by far. It's positioned in a superb location, for both spending time looking over the river, and being 5 minutes from the town centre.

The attention to detail with both the furnishings and equipment couldn't be faulted, and the kids loved the loft room. The master bedroom is like staying in a boutique hotel.

Thoroughly recommend both the Moorings and Lostwithiel as a place to stay.

Make up of party:  Family of 4.
Cleanliness: exceptional Location: exceptional
Facilities: exceptional Views: exceptional
Value: exceptional Overall rating:
Review Added by: Graham Review Added: 07.02.2011
Was this review helpful? Yes No
14 of 30 people found this review helpful
Recommended?  Definitely Date of visit: 06/2010
Cottage Review:  

The property is in an excellent location in a lovely tradition cornish village. The decor was to a high standard with everything you needed and more. It is a good base with the added benefit of the railway on site. I would recommend the Globe for excellent food and friendly atmosphere.

It would have been handy to know that the railway was so close as we used this a lot also I didn't realise there was a iron and hairdry so i brought my own.

I would definately come back.

Make up of party:  There were five of us staying in the property, all friends.
Cleanliness: exceptional Location: exceptional
Facilities: exceptional Views: exceptional
Value: exceptional Overall rating:
Review Added by: kellie Review Added: 04.07.2010
Was this review helpful? Yes No
16 of 22 people found this review helpful
Recommended?  Definitely Date of visit: 02/2010
Cottage Review:  

Fantastic property, although not for the disabled user, as 3 storey's and quite a lot of stairs to climb. Having said this, the property is spectacularly done out, with great attention to detail and more toilets than you could ever want!! 2 living rooms give space for those that want it, and the childrens bedroom on the top floor has its own telly/dvd. The place has wireless laptop connection which was great for my niece. It is ideally placed for lostwithiel centre and a short drive to places like looe, bodmin and the eden project. Bird's can be noisy in the children's bedrooms because they nest outside in the trees but apart from the birds it is really peaceful. The housekeeper is really good and will sort out any problems and parking was never a problem. The welcome package was a nice touch too.

Make up of party:  We were a party of 6 for my Mum and Dads 50th wedding anniversary.
Cleanliness: exceptional Location: exceptional
Facilities: good Views: exceptional
Value: exceptional Overall rating:
Review Added by: kingy1205 Review Added: 20.04.2010
Was this review helpful? Yes No
15 of 29 people found this review helpful
Recommended?  Definitely Date of visit: 08/2009
Cottage Review:  

Excellent location and accommodation - has all mod cons. Overlooking the river so couldn't be better. Parking by front door. Excellent base for a family holiday with lots to do within a short distance. [Added at Editor's discretion since it appears to be a helpful review and the reviewer has been authenticated]

Make up of party:  Family of 4
Cleanliness: exceptional Location: exceptional
Facilities: exceptional Views: exceptional
Value: good Overall rating:
Review Added by: mych editor Review Added: 05.10.2009
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Owner response:
I am not sure who wrote this review but I really appreciate your kind words about our home in Lostwithiel. I was down there last week ,the swans were on the river the sun was shining and it was very relaxing , I hope your holiday was good and that you return to Cornwall again. Thank you for your trouble.

13 of 27 people found this review helpful
Recommended?  Definitely Date of visit: 07/2009
Cottage Review:  

Gorgeous house in a lovely setting. The owners had thought of everything you would require for a comfortable, stress free stay. A great base for touring Cornwall.

Make up of party:  Family of 4 with grandparents.
Cleanliness: exceptional Location: good
Facilities: exceptional Views: good
Value: good Overall rating:
Review Added by: domben Review Added: 11.01.2010
Was this review helpful? Yes No
13 of 25 people found this review helpful
Recommended?  Definitely Date of visit: 05/2009
Cottage Review:  

A very well presented and located holiday cottage. The furnishings and décor are first class and the accessories i.e. washing machine, dryer, etc. etc. are excellent.

We really liked the layout and in particular having the children's bedroom located on the 3rd floor was a benefit as it was quiet and well thoughtfully laid out.

The location is superb. Lostwithiel is a delightful small town with a few good shops and restaurants. The cottage location beside the river was ideal and is very quiet. Travelling to the Eden Centre and the local attractions including Padstow (not a long journey) was relatively easy.

We thought the close proximity to the railway line would present a noise problem - this was not the case.

We would have no hesitation in recommending this property to a family, party of friends or whatever.

Make up of party:  Family party - Mum, Dad, Son and Daughter in Law and Grand daughter
Cleanliness: exceptional Location: exceptional
Facilities: good Views: good
Value: good Overall rating:
Review Added by: moxeym Review Added: 22.09.2009
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Owner response:
Thank you so much for going to the trouble of writing a review and for all the kind comments you made. In the present economic climate a bit of good publicity goes a long way,so is much appreciated, kindest regards Vivienne

14 of 26 people found this review helpful
Recommended?  Definitely Date of visit: 02/2009
Cottage Review:  

We had a lovely, quiet off-peak break at the Moorings. The cottage has a peaceful outlook over the river and towards the village through the trees. Antique shops, a Co-op supermarket and some lovely eateries serving traditional Cornish food were an easy walk away. Good location for exploring other parts of Cornwall too. Our 2 year old enjoyed the local park, and the little beach by the old bridge. She loved the trains too. (The tiny Lostwithiel station is across the road behind the cottage, but trains are infrequent so just enough to entertain the toddler, but not enough to annoy the rest of us!). The cottage itself is beautifully furnished, modern and very comfortable. Everything is new and exceptionally clean and the cottage was well-equipped, including baby/toddler equipment. I was 8 mths pregnant at the time, and can confirm that the beds are really comfy too!

Make up of party:  Family with toddler/baby
Cleanliness: exceptional Location: good
Facilities: exceptional Views: good
Value: good Overall rating:
Review Added by: smorawitz Review Added: 17.09.2009
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Owner response:
Thank you for your review on "my cottage holiday". I am delighted you managed to have such a pleasant stay in Lostwithel and some peace before the arrival of your baby. I hope at some stage you will be able to to go down to Cornwall again, many thanks, Vivienne

15 of 25 people found this review helpful
Recommended?  Definitely Date of visit: 01/2009
Cottage Review:  

Ideally suited to visit either the South or North coast of Cornwall (in February only half an hour's drive either way). Situated in a delightful village with a couple of very good restaurants. If you don't drive, you can get to the property by British Rail and walk to it very easily. Relaxing and friendly atmosphere. The furnishing and facilities in the house are outstanding. Lots of parking available. Ideal area for long walks and not far from the seaside. We plan to return to The Moorings again.

Make up of party:  Retired couple: although plenty of room for a family, just two people can be equally snug. Kitchen/lounge area ideal. The house had everything we needed, just like home and more!
Cleanliness: exceptional Location: exceptional
Facilities: exceptional Views: good
Value: exceptional Overall rating:
Review Added by: brent and jane Review Added: 23.09.2009
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Owner response:
Thank you for writing a review about our house in Brunel Quays. Delighted to hear that your winter break in Lostwithiel was so enjoyable. . . and even more pleased that you are intending to return, we are constantly updating and improving on little things in the house so I hope your next trip will be even better, Vivienne

16 of 39 people found this review helpful
Recommended?  Definitely Date of visit: 12/2008
Cottage Review:  

I highly recommend The Moorings for a winter break. Some friends and I spent a long weekend there in January.The weather was sunny and mild and it was good to spend time in a Cornwall devoid of tourists. We arrived by train, but having a car didn't affect us at all. There are plenty of walks around the area along the river and up to Restormal Castle, as well as the convenience of the town of Lostwithiel,filled with shops,pubs and restaurants. The Moorings is beautifully located with a patio and balcony both overlooking the river, and just a 5 minute walk to the centre of town, crossing the 13th century bridge and a park along the way, and a 2 minute walk to the train. When we left, we were locking the front door as our train came around the bend and with a little hustle we still made the train! That being said, the trains are very infrequent and we have no recollection of hearing them during our stay.

The best part of our visit was The Moorings itself. The house is finished to the highest standard, with beautiful paintings and furnishings and equipped with everything you could want in a holiday home. The furnishings are new and the house is immaculately clean. The beds are amazing. I wanted to stay in bed all day with my book-my idea of a holiday!

Make up of party:  Friends
Cleanliness: exceptional Location: exceptional
Facilities: exceptional Views: exceptional
Value: exceptional Overall rating:
Review Added by: laurieporter Review Added: 22.09.2009
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Owner response:
Thank you for writing a review. I am delighted that when furnishing the house I spent a little bit extra on furnishings. . . particularly on the beds. Like you, a good book and a comfortable place to read goes a long way in making for a relaxing holiday.
Vivienne

18 of 33 people found this review helpful
Recommended?  Definitely Date of visit: 10/2008
Cottage Review:  

We are Americans and flew into Heathrow then traveled directly by train from Reading to lostwithiel and "The Moorings". We had searched for a property that seemrd reasonably central for touring Cornwall as we made the decision not to hire a car, but to rely on the public transport system. This proved to be a good decision and the house was a perfect base to tour the county including The Eden Project, St. Ives,Penzance,HelstonNewquay, and other quaint seaside towns. The Moorings was well thought out and equipped as well as being extremely comfortable with quality linens, flat screen tvs and beautiful furnishings. it is only a 5 minute walk over an ancient bridge from the house to the heart of this small town. After a day of sightseeing, we would look forward to sitting on the balcony with the doors open and having a drink looking out over the river with swans feeding right under our eyes. This is about as enjoyable and relaxing as it gets.

The housekeeper, Jayne, could not have been more helpful as were the volunteers in the Lostwithiel community center who helped us plan our trips as well as giving us some sound recommendations. The Moorings is well worth a visit and we highly recommend this property for a great holiday!

Make up of party:  Husband, wife Jerry and Dee
Cleanliness: exceptional Location: exceptional
Facilities: exceptional Views: exceptional
Value: exceptional Overall rating:
Review Added by: deepaul Review Added: 29.09.2009
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Owner response:
Mr and Mrs P , it sounds like you had a great holiday in Cornwall and I am amazed you saw so much of the county in such a short time particularly when using public transport. We look forward to welcoming you and many others from North America to The Moorings.
Thank you for your review.


IMPORTANT DISCLAIMER - PLEASE READ - All reviews are posted by third parties. As such they do not represent the views of My Cottage Holiday Limited nor should they be taken as a recommendation by My Cottage Holiday Limited of any property. ALL reviews are the opinions of other users and may not be accurate. They do not represent the views of MyCottageHoliday or its employees. We accept no responsibility for the accuracy of the information provided on the site. The reviews and property descriptions are provided by members of the public to help you choose a holiday cottage but you should personally check ALL details with the property owner or their agent before making a booking.

My Cottage Holiday Ltd, Company No. 09974415, Unit 2, Compass House, Velator, Braunton, Devon, EX33 2DX