What are you looking for?        

Find A Cottage

Step One

Step Two

 Report a Review

Holiday Cottage Reviews for Fletchers Combe Farmhouse

Average rating: (12 reviews)

5 12

Fletchers Combe Farmhouse, Diptford, Totnes, Devon, TQ9 7NQ

Description of the self catering property

Fletchers Combe Farmhouse is a spacious stone built and characterful property that sleeps 8 in 3 double bedrooms and 1 twin or zip link king size bedroom with 1 bath/shower room and 1 wetroom shower. Fully equipped kitchen with gas/electric oven, oil fired AGA, dining area for 10+ with sofa and woodburner, separate lounge with woodburner and utility room. Fully centrally heated and free WIFI internet.

Outside is a secure and private fenced garden and a secure fenced courtyard with outdoor furniture and BBQ overlooking a large pond, orchard and paddocks. Beyond are 60 acres of farmland with streams and woodland to which guests have access.

Fletchers Combe is set in a secluded valley midway between the coast and the beaches of the South Hams of Devon and the National Park of Dartmoor. The nearby village has a pub, shop and garage and the Elizabethan town of Totnes is 15 minutes by car.

Best Features

* Secluded and private location

* Character property with period furniture and features

* Welcome hamper on arrival

* Games room, traditional skittle alley, pool table, darts, table football, table tennis, play area, football, basketball and volleyball

* 60 acres of farmland with streams, trails and woodland

* Full layout plans and room photos on our website

* All inclusive prices. No hidden extras.

Sleeps: from 2 to 8

Pets: Yes

Contact Details

Contact Name: Di Wilkins

Telephone: 01548 821609

Send E-mail

Reviews


6 of 11 people found this review helpful
Recommended?  Definitely Date of visit: 07/2015
Cottage Review:  

Second time we come here from France, really an amazing place ! Very calm and quiet, the best sleeping nights ever ! Lovely settings and furniture, fully equipped inside and outside, everything is made to make you feel comfortable and "at home". Stunning views around. We also enjoyed the games room ! Great location for exploring the surrounding area and enjoying peace and quiet. Close to the coast and beaches, lots of things to do and visit around... And many thanks to Di for her warm welcome ! [Added at Editor's discretion since it appears to be a helpful review and the reviewer has been authenticated]

Make up of party:  2 adults and two kids
Cleanliness: exceptional Location: exceptional
Facilities: exceptional Views: exceptional
Value: exceptional Overall rating:
Review Added by: mych editor Review Added: 20.08.2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 of 9 people found this review helpful
Recommended?  Definitely Date of visit: 05/2015
Cottage Review:  

Beautiful farmhouse and gardens - exceeded expectations! We wanted to stay forever! Extremely well equipped, sumptuous decor and stunning views. Great location for exploring the surrounding area and enjoying peace and quiet.

Make up of party:  2 adults + 4 kids
Cleanliness: exceptional Location: exceptional
Facilities: exceptional Views: exceptional
Value: good Overall rating:
Review Added by: luisacheshire Review Added: 06.05.2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No
13 of 17 people found this review helpful
Recommended?  Definitely Date of visit: 07/2014
Cottage Review:  

What a wonderful farmhouse, great location, so quiet. This is the house I'd love to own! Very spacious, clean and tidy when we arrived, with a welcome pack of fair trade coffee, chocolate and Prosecco. Toiletries are just as good as those in 5 star hotels, and in family sizes, so you don't need to bring your own. Beds comfy with top quality sheets and duvets. This is dog heaven with 60 acres of farm land to roam off lead, and pond to swim in. Lots of activities for everybody on site, but it's also very convenient for lots of lovely locations, from beaches to pubs. Useful guide in the house with where to shop and eat out, local walks and places to see. No extra hidden charges for electricity or firewood. Outdoor BBQ and log burner were great for evenings under the stars. Safely fenced for small children around patio and play area. Another family were in the barn for part of our stay but two buildings separate enough for not to be an issue.it was their sixth trip to the cottages! Host Simon was very helpful and quickly came to sort out a minor issue with upstairs loo. I'm not surprised people return so often, we loved it

Make up of party:  Family holiday, age range from 20 to 55
Cleanliness: exceptional Location: exceptional
Facilities: exceptional Views: exceptional
Value: exceptional Overall rating:
Review Added by: Sbatley Review Added: 12.07.2014
Was this review helpful? Yes No
19 of 25 people found this review helpful
Recommended?  Definitely Date of visit: 04/2014
Cottage Review:  

Wonderful Farmhouse and grounds - exceeded expectations upon arrival, which were high to start with, so you can't get better than that! Furnishings and finishing touches were excellent. We had no criticisms. Totnes was close, so evening takeouts were a breeze. Fletchers seemed to be 30mins from all the places we wanted to visit, so location was perfect for us.

Make up of party:  Family hol - Myself, wife, daughter, Mum-in-law and br0-in-law.
Cleanliness: exceptional Location: exceptional
Facilities: exceptional Views: exceptional
Value: exceptional Overall rating:
Review Added by: swhitham Review Added: 20.04.2014
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 of 19 people found this review helpful
Recommended?  Definitely Date of visit: 09/2013
Cottage Review:  

A stay at Fletchers is a real chance to re-charge your batteries. It's located in a quiet location, but is still within easy reach of Totnes, Dartmoor and the coast. The farmhouse itself is like stepping back in time with tasteful decor in keeping with the property but with the luxury of modern facilities too.

Make up of party:  Friends.
Cleanliness: exceptional Location: exceptional
Facilities: exceptional Views: exceptional
Value: exceptional Overall rating:
Review Added by: Karen Review Added: 02.11.2013
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 of 16 people found this review helpful
Recommended?  Definitely Date of visit: 09/2013
Cottage Review:  

We had a 3 night stay at this lovely property as part of my 60th birthday celebrations and were a party of 16 ranging in age from 6 to 70. The weather was pretty grim, but this did not stop us having a great time. The property is fantastic with plenty of bedroom and bathroom space. The kitchen is superb and the dining table actually managed to fit all 16 of us around it at a pinch even though it is only really meant to seat 14. Lots of things to do in the house with loads of games, two tv's (if needed) and ipod docking station. In addition, the separate games room is an added bonus! With the weather being so bad, taking advantage of the lovely walks in the immediate area was a bit tricky, but the surrounding countryside is beautiful. The property is set in splendid isoltaion accessed via some very narrow lanes (loads of parking), but the nearest village is only 5 mins away and Totnes about a 15 minute drive. All in all a great weekend - thankyou Simon.

Make up of party:  16 family ranging in age from 6-70.
Cleanliness: good Location: exceptional
Facilities: exceptional Views: good
Value: good Overall rating:
Review Added by: Paul Kilby Review Added: 01.10.2013
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Owner response:
Thanks for your fantastic review. Just need to point out that these guests actually stayed in Fletchers Combe Barns and not the Farmhouse as listed in the review. The Farmhouse only sleeps 8.

12 of 20 people found this review helpful
Recommended?  Definitely Date of visit: 08/2013
Cottage Review:  

Wonderfully quiet and secluded, with real historic atmosphere. Beautifully furnished with interesting features but robust enough not to feel too precious. We slept like logs here. The children hardly looked at a screen all week, as the open grounds and games room kept them more than happy. A very memorable holiday.

Make up of party:  Two families sharing with four children between us (Cousins)aged between 4 and 9.
Cleanliness: exceptional Location: exceptional
Facilities: exceptional Views: exceptional
Value: exceptional Overall rating:
Review Added by: rachelhornsey Review Added: 01.09.2013
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 of 19 people found this review helpful
Recommended?  Definitely Date of visit: 05/2013
Cottage Review:  

A wonderful property!

We stayed here to celebrate a friends birthday, so also used rented the Barns.

The situation is perfect, quiet, fantastic views, easy to find with the owners instructions.

The grounds are well maintained with plenty of space to sit out in. Walking from the property is good, and the dogs in our party loved the grounds out the back of the property surrounding a large pond, safe for them to roam around.

The property is so well equipped, and very comfortable. My favourite room was the wonderful kitchen/dining area which is so spacious, a delight to spend time in. The beds are large and very comfortable.

We also used Simon's recommended caterer ( Sarah Pope) who was excellent and provided excellent food for a birthday lunch.

All in all a fantastic property and location, helpful owner and we will be back!

Make up of party:  Group of friends (with dogs).
Cleanliness: exceptional Location: exceptional
Facilities: exceptional Views: exceptional
Value: exceptional Overall rating:
Review Added by: sandrayates Review Added: 27.05.2013
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 of 15 people found this review helpful
Recommended?  Definitely Date of visit: 04/2013
Cottage Review:  

First class farmhouse in excellent location, tucked away in rural Devon. Easy access to the Dart estury or various beaches but with a ton to do at the property itself. Obviously brilliant for kids with its games room, swings and tree house etc, but terrific for adults too with 60 acres of rambles, superb dog walking and areas for games on the grass.

The pictures do not do the farmhouse kitchen justice - it's beautiful, warm and the heart of the property. Just as it should be with Aga simmering away. The beds are universally comfortable - the supplied towels excellent. All the bedrooms are good and the bathroom is a cut above with a superb powered shower and free standing bath. We loved it.

We felt this property was very good and close to exceptional in most respects and we will definitely be returning. It's a bit of an undiscovered gem. Simon the owner is brilliant - extremely efficient and the the help and guidence for making the best use of local shops, caterers, take aways, restaurants is top notch. We used his recommended caterer for a celebration meal in the farm house and all went brilliantly. Warmly recommended.

Make up of party:  3 couples, plus assorted children and dogs
Cleanliness: good Location: good
Facilities: exceptional Views: good
Value: exceptional Overall rating:
Review Added by: lindajgreen Review Added: 11.04.2013
Was this review helpful? Yes No
17 of 22 people found this review helpful
Recommended?  Definitely Date of visit: 10/2012
Cottage Review:  

Fletchers Coombe farmhouse is a firm favourite with our family and dogs. The house has real character, plenty of space inside and out. The games room is really useful for rainy days!

The kids 10 and 14 love exploring, enjoying making bows and arrows, setting up camps down by the stream, guarded of course by our ever faithful Labrador Meg.

The house is well equipped with comfortable beds, lovely cosy wood burning stove and the Aga is perfect for drying damp dogs!

We all love our many holidays at Fletchers and highly recommend it.

Make up of party:  Two families
Cleanliness: exceptional Location: exceptional
Facilities: exceptional Views: exceptional
Value: exceptional Overall rating:
Review Added by: Megmolly Review Added: 05.11.2012
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 of 23 people found this review helpful
Recommended?  Definitely Date of visit: 08/2012
Cottage Review:  

We all had a wonderful holiday in this lovely farmhouse.

The children enjoyed the pond and rowing boat, whilst we enjoyed sitting on the terrace in the morning sun.

The house is very homely and comfortable, including the beds.

We all like settling down in front of the wood burner in the evening with a glass of wine.

The wet room is great if you like taking showers and the roll top bath was ideal for relaxing.

Brillant holiday in lovely surroundings.

Make up of party:  x2 families sharing
Cleanliness: exceptional Location: exceptional
Facilities: exceptional Views: exceptional
Value: exceptional Overall rating:
Review Added by: martin1972 Review Added: 09.09.2012
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 of 18 people found this review helpful
Recommended?  Definitely Date of visit: 05/2012
Cottage Review:  

Lovely Farmhouse with a good amount of land and great views. Rooms v spacious and woodburners / aga a real treat. Great location for totnes and dartmouth. Felt like a 'home'. Really well equipped too.

Make up of party:  2 families
Cleanliness: exceptional Location: exceptional
Facilities: exceptional Views: exceptional
Value: exceptional Overall rating:
Review Added by: bobbyb29 Review Added: 11.05.2012
Was this review helpful? Yes No

IMPORTANT DISCLAIMER - PLEASE READ - All reviews are posted by third parties. As such they do not represent the views of My Cottage Holiday Limited nor should they be taken as a recommendation by My Cottage Holiday Limited of any property. ALL reviews are the opinions of other users and may not be accurate. They do not represent the views of MyCottageHoliday or its employees. We accept no responsibility for the accuracy of the information provided on the site. The reviews and property descriptions are provided by members of the public to help you choose a holiday cottage but you should personally check ALL details with the property owner or their agent before making a booking.

My Cottage Holiday Ltd, Company No. 09974415, Unit 2, Compass House, Velator, Braunton, Devon, EX33 2DX