What are you looking for?        

Find A Cottage

Step One

Step Two

 Report a Review

Cottage Holiday Reviews for Fletchers Combe Barn

Average rating: (17 reviews)

5 17

Fletchers Combe Barn, Diptford, Totnes, Devon, TQ9 7NQ

Description of the self catering

Fletchers Combe Barn sleeps 14 in 5 double and 2 twin or double bedrooms with 5 bath/shower rooms. A fully equipped kitchen, lounge, TV lounge and dining room for up to 16 complete the Visit England 4 star rated accommodation. Outside there is a fenced secure garden with stream and terrace with outdoor dining for 14, BBQs and a giant chess set.

Fletchers Combe is set in a secluded valley midway between the coast and beaches of the South Hams and the National Park of Dartmoor. The nearby village has both pub and shop while the shopping centre of medieval Totnes is 15 minutes by car.

Best Features

* Secluded and private location

* Stables barn with traditional skittle alley, table tennis/football pool table darts and 6 mountain bikes

* Childrens play area and fenced garden

* Petanque court and nature trail

* 60 acres of farmland with trails, streams and woodland

* All inclusive prices

Sleeps: from 7 to 14

Pets: Yes

Contact Details

Contact Name: Di Wilkins

Telephone: 01548 821609

Send E-mail

Reviews


2 of 5 people found this review helpful
Recommended?  Definitely Date of visit: 05/2016
Cottage Review:  

Totally fantastic property and would so go back! Perfect for the whole family! The dogs loved it even more than us with all the amazing land to run in!

Make up of party:  Families
Cleanliness: exceptional Location: exceptional
Facilities: exceptional Views: exceptional
Value: exceptional Overall rating:
Review Added by: mych editor Review Added: 24.05.2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 of 17 people found this review helpful
Recommended?  Definitely Date of visit: 03/2015
Cottage Review:  

Di Wilkins is the perfect host; full of helpful advice and support, even before you set foot into the beautifully restored Barn. There is plenty of space, with a large and superbly equipped kitchen. It was the focal point of our weekend and allowed us to prepare a 5-course dinner for 12 with relative ease. The dining room is larger than the photos convey and all the bedrooms are comfy.

The gamesroom is excellent fun (darts, pool, table tennis, skittles and table football; we could've spent longer in here. The surrounding area is tranquil and ideal for gentle walks.

In sum, worth the 3-4 hour from London to get away from it all. Stay here if you feel like some pampering in a gorgeous Barn, supported excellently by Di.

Make up of party:  12 friends for a long weekend of good wine and food, with lots of laughter. Fletchers Combe is perfect for this, to unwind and get away from a busy week.
Cleanliness: exceptional Location: exceptional
Facilities: exceptional Views: exceptional
Value: exceptional Overall rating:
Review Added by: TimW Review Added: 10.03.2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No
18 of 30 people found this review helpful
Recommended?  Definitely Date of visit: 06/2014
Cottage Review:  

Stayed in both properties here, very isolated but ideal for our group of stags. Games room, barbi and outside gardens were used to the max. Very well equipped kitchen in the barns meant we were able to eat together in one place , only using bedrooms in farm house. Torquay was our Saturday night venue only a 40 minute taxi ride away. Happy cabbies of totnes. This was my second time here, first being my wife\\\\\\\'s 50th birthday weekend , equally suitable for older age group in a more relaxing way. Space, comfort , high speck with plenty on your door step to explore. Both groups of people who I\\\\\\\'ve been down with were very impressed. Simon the owner was always very helpful.

Vernon Oxfordshire

Make up of party:  First visit friends at 50th birthday. 7 couples. Second Stag do ages from 25 to 54 (21 happy lads)
Cleanliness: exceptional Location: exceptional
Facilities: good Views: exceptional
Value: good Overall rating:
Review Added by: Vernon Review Added: 23.06.2014
Was this review helpful? Yes No
13 of 23 people found this review helpful
Recommended?  Definitely Date of visit: 05/2014
Cottage Review:  

We booked this property for a reunion with friends and it was perfect.

Lots of space and fantastic for the children. They spent the whole weekend outside in the beautiful grounds and play areas.

We went on walks from the property suitable for us all, with lovely beaches not far away.

It is very secluded so we could make as much noise as we liked.

Simon Harrington who runs the property was very accommodating, nothing was too much trouble.

We will definately be returning.

Make up of party:  27 of us, 8 couples and 11 children!
Cleanliness: exceptional Location: exceptional
Facilities: exceptional Views: exceptional
Value: exceptional Overall rating:
Review Added by: Laura Review Added: 06.05.2014
Was this review helpful? Yes No
14 of 30 people found this review helpful
Recommended?  Definitely Date of visit: 09/2013
Cottage Review:  

We stayed here for a long weekend in Feb and had a fantastic time. The Barn was as it had been described and was well equipped to take a large mixed group of 8 adults and 9 children. There are great communal spaces including the kitchen diner and the lounge and I must say Simon (the owner) was absolutely great! Everything is there for you from linen, travel cots, baby-coms, mountain bikes, giant flat screen tv in lounge and much more. There are loads of things to do around fletchers combe from Woodlands Adventure park (6 miles) to the pretty seaside villages of Dartmouth and Salcombe. We had a leisurely drive down from Bristol which took us just under two hours. Will definitely return and recommend to others...

Make up of party:  Four families consisting of eight adults and nine children are range between 5 months to 7 years old.
Cleanliness: exceptional Location: exceptional
Facilities: exceptional Views: exceptional
Value: exceptional Overall rating:
Review Added by: bennolad Review Added: 11.02.2013
Was this review helpful? Yes No
16 of 24 people found this review helpful
Recommended?  Definitely Date of visit: 07/2013
Cottage Review:  

Another fantastic weekend for all the family, kids , grandkids, dogs . Perfect weather was the icing on the cake. Simon has thought of everything to make the stay really enjoyable. Beautifully clean, well equipped kitchen, plenty of bathrooms to save rows ! We shall be back [Added at Editor's discretion since it appears to be a helpful review and the reviewer has been authenticated]

Make up of party:  Family , grandparents, 3 children , 3 grandchildren and 3 dogs, joined by further family on the Sunday for a huge BBQ
Cleanliness: exceptional Location: exceptional
Facilities: exceptional Views: good
Value: good Overall rating:
Review Added by: mych editor Review Added: 07.08.2013
Was this review helpful? Yes No
22 of 38 people found this review helpful
Recommended?  Definitely Date of visit: 05/2013
Cottage Review:  

We had a lovely holiday here in late may for our parents ruby wedding anniversary.

The barn is very well equipped with good attention to detail and very comfortable. The kids loved the play barn, garden and treehouse and there were ample grounds to walk our dog over the surrounding fields and lanes.

Simon the owner was very attentive and stopped by to check we were ok.

Just one point to note for future guests. There are small flights of steps inside the property between the kitchen and lounge areas. My 90 year old grandmother coped ok but just be aware in case you have someone with mobility constraints.

Overall a lovely barn in a lovely location.

Make up of party:  3 families and children and great grandmother. 1 labrador. 1 Yorkshire terrier. 1 jack Russell.
Cleanliness: exceptional Location: exceptional
Facilities: exceptional Views: good
Value: good Overall rating:
Review Added by: Richard millward Review Added: 03.06.2013
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 of 24 people found this review helpful
Recommended?  Definitely Date of visit: 04/2013
Cottage Review:  

We stayed here for my husbands 50th birthday for a weekend and had a wonderful time despite the weather's best attempts! The cottage is extremely well equipped with lots of extras and homely touches and Simon was extremely helpful if every way. We employed Sarah Pope to cook us a meal on Saturday evening at the house and she did an amazing job making it a very special evening. Would definitely recommend it to anyone.

Make up of party:  14 adults and one small baby
Cleanliness: exceptional Location: exceptional
Facilities: exceptional Views: good
Value: exceptional Overall rating:
Review Added by: jcshuck Review Added: 02.05.2013
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 of 22 people found this review helpful
Recommended?  Definitely Date of visit: 02/2013
Cottage Review:  

A really lovely property with beds for 14 people and 5 bathroom. Everything is provided incl linen, towels, loo roll and great extras such as soap, milk, wine, cake. Simon the owner was extremely helpful, lots to do at the property with games room & walks as well as lots to do in the surrounding area.

Make up of party:  Family party with 8 older adults, 5 younger adults & 1 child
Cleanliness: exceptional Location: good
Facilities: exceptional Views: good
Value: exceptional Overall rating:
Review Added by: kbailey Review Added: 26.02.2013
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 of 23 people found this review helpful
Recommended?  Definitely Date of visit: 02/2013
Cottage Review:  

Our extended family of 14 returned to Fletchers Combe for a second time this Feb. We absolutely love it! Such a well equipped house, with great space and a great bathroom to bedroom ratio! Also really lovely extra touches, like wine and cake to great us; current issues of magazines; a full bookshelf; and shampoo etc in the bathrooms. We'll be back for sure!

Make up of party:  4 couples and their 6 grown-up children
Cleanliness: exceptional Location: good
Facilities: exceptional Views: good
Value: exceptional Overall rating:
Review Added by: emma1811 Review Added: 26.02.2013
Was this review helpful? Yes No
13 of 21 people found this review helpful
Recommended?  Definitely Date of visit: 01/2013
Cottage Review:  

Excellent very clean and well equipped. Beautiful barn. Simon was extremely helpful and pleasant. I would highly recommend this to anyone we had a brilliant weekend, children loved it. The games room with skittle alley was brilliant. There is not 1 thing I could fault here I am ready to book again. :-)

Make up of party:  11 adults 6 children
Cleanliness: exceptional Location: good
Facilities: exceptional Views: exceptional
Value: exceptional Overall rating:
Review Added by: Jodshillvv1 Review Added: 08.01.2013
Was this review helpful? Yes No
13 of 24 people found this review helpful
Recommended?  Definitely Date of visit: 11/2012
Cottage Review:  

The barn is fantastic and provides a great place to get together with friends. It is so well equipped with every thing we needed and more. The owner is so friendly an helpful.

We have visited once before and will defiantly be visiting again.

Make up of party:  Couples
Cleanliness: exceptional Location: exceptional
Facilities: exceptional Views: exceptional
Value: exceptional Overall rating:
Review Added by: Pjj29979 Review Added: 13.11.2012
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 of 25 people found this review helpful
Recommended?  Definitely Date of visit: 11/2012
Cottage Review:  

Beautiful house with everything you could possibly want. There is plenty too keep everyone occupied even if the weather is poor!

Make up of party:  Family
Cleanliness: exceptional Location: exceptional
Facilities: exceptional Views: good
Value: good Overall rating:
Review Added by: iplukins Review Added: 05.11.2012
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 of 18 people found this review helpful
Recommended?  Definitely Date of visit: 08/2012
Cottage Review:  

If you are looking for a rural, peaceful and well equipped cottage/barn in Devon, then look no further. After tackling very narrow country lanes you will find yourself in a very tranquil setting. Our extended family (11 of us, from 9mths+ to 59!) all enjoyed the comfortable accommodation and leave with some happy memories. First class facilities for all including baby monitor, stair gates and high chair. Loved the stream and garden and we had fantastic weather. The bikes were well used but some of the outdoor games areas could be updated a little (minor grumble only).

All in all, highly recommended. The property is old, but very well maintained.

Make up of party:  Family of 8 adults, 2 children and a baby.
Cleanliness: good Location: good
Facilities: good Views: good
Value: good Overall rating:
Review Added by: debsaw Review Added: 28.08.2012
Was this review helpful? Yes No
14 of 24 people found this review helpful
Recommended?  Definitely Date of visit: 08/2012
Cottage Review:  

Property was beautiful and immaculate, facilities insite was great. Roads to barn were very narrow and difficult to navigate. One room in the house was a little too bright and noisy. Apart from some minor negitaves this holiday home was wonderful i would highly reccomend it

Make up of party:  17 people 11 children6 adults
Cleanliness: exceptional Location: good
Facilities: exceptional Views: good
Value: good Overall rating:
Review Added by: mariasings Review Added: 09.08.2012
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 of 25 people found this review helpful
Recommended?  Definitely Date of visit: 05/2012
Cottage Review:  

Looking for a large property for a family celebration we were lucky enough to come across Fletchers Combe Barn. What a fabulous weekend we had staying in this exceptional property. Lovely rural setting, fantastic facilities, nothing was too much trouble.We especially enjoyed the upstairs light filled open plan living area and the south west facing terrace. Ideal to sit on and soak up the afternoon and evening sun.

Make up of party:  Four couples, three singles and a baby
Cleanliness: exceptional Location: exceptional
Facilities: exceptional Views: exceptional
Value: good Overall rating:
Review Added by: holidays Review Added: 16.05.2012
Was this review helpful? Yes No
19 of 34 people found this review helpful
Recommended?  Definitely Date of visit: 04/2012
Cottage Review:  

We have stayed at Fletchers Combe Barns 5 times now and cannot commend it highly enough. This stunning property not only has the wow factor but is incredibly comfortable and luxurious. The location is very rural (grass growing in the middle of the road!) and there are some lovely walks in the surrounding countryside. Despite the quiet location it is only 15 minutes from Totnes and only 30 from Dartmouth. We recommend doing the Round Robin which involves taking a ferry from Totnes to Dartmouth then a steam train to Paignton and an open top bus back to Totnes. Great way to spend a day.

Make up of party:  3 couples and 3 singles
Cleanliness: exceptional Location: exceptional
Facilities: exceptional Views: exceptional
Value: exceptional Overall rating:
Review Added by: tinahay Review Added: 04.05.2012
Was this review helpful? Yes No

IMPORTANT DISCLAIMER - PLEASE READ - All reviews are posted by third parties. As such they do not represent the views of My Cottage Holiday Limited nor should they be taken as a recommendation by My Cottage Holiday Limited of any property. ALL reviews are the opinions of other users and may not be accurate. They do not represent the views of MyCottageHoliday or its employees. We accept no responsibility for the accuracy of the information provided on the site. The reviews and property descriptions are provided by members of the public to help you choose a holiday cottage but you should personally check ALL details with the property owner or their agent before making a booking.

My Cottage Holiday Ltd, Company No. 09974415, Unit 2, Compass House, Velator, Braunton, Devon, EX33 2DX